Hey guys! I know it’s been quite a while since the last Modesty Monday (or blog posts for that matter…eep), but it’s back! If you’re new to my blog and Modesty Monday, I should let you know that I used to collaborate with another Catholic Twitter account, but unfortunately, he has disappeared….

So for this blog post, I interviewed Christina Mead, managing editor and writer on Lifeteen.com! (A wonderful website reaching out to Catholic teens.) I am so grateful to Christina for taking time to respond in depth to all of my questions about modesty! 

Q. What does modesty mean to you?

I believe that modesty is about living out my femininity authentically on the inside and the outside. Modesty means using your feminine beauty to attract others to your personhood, not your best physical features. It’s less about lines and more about an attitude, knowing deep down that you’re more than a body but that your body is an important part of who you are and how you present yourself can lead others to God or away from God. Modesty is about encouraging true love and not lust.

2. What are your personal modest clothing guidelines as a woman of God?

That’s hard to say because it’s such a variable depending on the outfit. However, overall, I don’t feel comfortable showing cleavage, I wear shorts that go to my fingertips, I don’t wear bikinis, and if I look in the mirror and wonder if an outfit is okay… well then I know I already have my answer – no. Someone once said that your clothes should be tight enough to show you’re a woman but loose enough to show that you’re a lady. I think we have to be careful when talking about clothing guidelines however, because it’s easy to slip into judging other girls when their clothes don’t measure up (yes, that was an awesome pun) to the standards we’ve set for ourselves. I try to be careful and remind myself that not everyone has been convicted or understands the importance of modesty. If the goal of modesty is to not settle for being seen as an object, then we have to be careful to not look at other people as objects and gawk at what they are or aren’t wearing. I wrote a whole blog about this, check it out! (link to: http://lifeteen.com/finger-pointing-fatigue/)

3. How do you feel that the world is influencing young Catholic men and women in regard to modesty?

This one’s easy! Not well. That’s why I love Romans 12:2. Don’t conform to the standards of this world! Being different and holding a standard of modesty is alluring and attractive. It’s that mystery of the unknown that makes a guy intrigued about you while all around him other girls aren’t keeping anything a secret.

4. How do we keep a balance between the style of the times and modesty? Is that really possible?

Of course it’s possible! You have to look at it as a challenge though, and not a burden or else it’s depressing because it can be difficult. It’s all about layering (I pretty much always wear a cami – H&M has my favorite ones) and mixing classic pieces of clothing with newer, trendy pieces and accessories. Shop for your size, not the size you want to be. Be realistic about what works for your body type. I’ll share a secret with you too, sometimes, I say a prayer to Mary before I shop and she always pulls through for me. I dare you to try it.

5. Do you have a favorite Bible verse about modesty?

Hmmm, to be honest I don’t have a favorite Bible verse about it, but I do have a favorite quote! Archbishop Fulton Sheen said: “When a man loves a woman, he has to become worthy of her. The higher her virtue, the more noble her character, the more devoted she is to truth, justice, goodness, the more a man has to aspire to be worthy of her. The history of civilization could actually be written in terms of the level of its women.”  I love that because it’s a great reminder of how we need to mutually call each other on to holiness. The choices that you and I make, even in our clothing, have an effect on our brothers in Christ and can help them be holier. And holier men and women are definitely what this world needs right about now!

Everything she said was so true about modesty. I will add my own favorite quotes about modesty as well. 

“the sins which bring most souls to hell are the sins of the flesh.  Certain fashions are going to be introduced which will offend Our Lord very much… the Church has no fashions; Our Lord is always the same…” Our Lady of Fatima to Blessed Jacinta Marto

“Modesty in a woman is the sign that Jesus Christ dwells in her heart. It is a sweet perfume of edification which she is called upon to diffuse.” Fatima Crusader

Thanks again to Christina Mead (@LT_Christina)! God bless you all. 

~Nice Catholic Girl

